Arugula-Mushroom Pizza

I had a final dinner with one of my besties before she went to San Diego to ignore me forever hahaha. Arugula-topped pizza is so light and fresh (for a pizza)– I just love the bitter, peppery arugula that’s slightly wilted from the hot and earthy pizza. So good. I’ll have a recipe for thin-crust pizza dough up as soon as I can because pillsbury isn’t cutting it. The both of us were in such a rush to make it to pick up the boys and watch Toy Story 3! WHICH WAS AWESOME! (Mostly because I hate when movies drag a series forever, i.e. Rambo 45, but this was legitly a good third installment).

Anyways, I can’t understand why the guys I know hate thin-crust. What’s their deal? Thin-crust is awesome, crunchy and like, the opposite of soft, fluffy, and ultimately soggy. that’s right. I said it. This is a light(er) pizza. I can’t have a heavy crust weighing it down.

Arugula-Mushroom Pizza
1 roll thin-crust pizza dough (homemade preferably)
tomato sauce
10 crimini mushrooms, chopped
1/4 red onion, sliced
mozzarella cheese, thinly sliced
parmesan cheese, thinly sliced in cheese grater
1 package baby arugula
extra-virgin olive oil
salt and pepper
(lemon juice)
(proscuitto)

Put sauce on crust, sparingly (preferably a parmesan-tomato sauce). When I’m in a hurry, I always get Buitoni’s Tomato-Herb Parmesan sauce. It’s amazing– otherwise, I’d make my own. Top with cheese, then onion and mushroom (and proscuitto, if using) and bake according to directions.

The arugula salad is so simple. Just add a few tablespoons of olive oil to barely coat each arugula leaf. Too much and it will taste too much like olive oil so add incrementally and taste. Be generous with salt but add a bit of pepper as arugula is already very, very peppery. Lastly, toss the salad with some thin sliced (or grated) parmesan. If desired, you can squeeze a very, very little bit of lemon juice to make the salad pop. It’s a very simple and one of the most basic dressings you will find for any type of lettuce– especially one for peppery arugula or dandelion greens. When you remove the pizza, generously top the pizza with arugula so that the heat wilts and cooks off a little peppery flavor, especially if you didn’t use baby arugula.

Serve with a side of fresh fruit salad (mango, strawberry, pineapple, grapes) and vanilla yogurt. 🙂

1 pound (or about 3 1/2 cups) high gluten flour
3/4 cup warm water
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
1 1/2 teaspoon active dry yeast
1 1/2 teaspoon sugar
1 teaspoon salt
Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Arugula-Mushroom Pizza

  1. alison says:

    your blog is too cute! did you know this looks just like the pizza i ate today at cheeseboard in berkeley?! http://cheeseboardcollective.coop/Pizza%20Collective/z.htm — it was delicious!!

  2. sui says:

    umm awesome, I wish I’d been there! haha. 🙂

Leave a Reply

