Roasted Brussel Sprouts with Pancetta, Shallots, and Parmesan

Holiday season is here! I’m writing this post in the midst of studying for finals, during class, and nearly dozing off with 5 – 6 hours of sleep so I’ve been incredibly inactive. So sorry, folks. But I thought this side dish applies to any big Holiday meal and is essentially the best thing ever because it involves crispy, fatty, greasy pancetta and salty cheese…oh yeah and brussel sprouts (WHICH are also on my list for best things ever).

ALSO FURTHERMORE, I went through with it and got my tattoo! Lincoln Cafe in IA gave me the inspiration to tack on that message. It’s amazingly simple but important; especially for those who are really concerned with the sociology of food and how sourcing really impacts the health of those who surround you and the environment you live in.

…and free fries for life is kind of a plus.

Roasted Brussel Sprouts
1/2 lb chunk of good pancetta
15 – 20 brussel sprouts, halved
3 cloves of garlic, minced

2 coarsely chopped shallots
2 tbsp lemon juice
parmesan cheese
salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 375F

Half all brussel sprouts, length-wise, and place them cut-side down on a large baking dish. Cut pancetta into small bite-sized pieces and, over med-high to high heat, saute them until fat is rendered and meat is crispy. Mix pancetta and rendered fat (if desired) with brussel sprouts along with lemon juice, shallots, and garlic. Make sure all brussel sprouts are still face-down. Place in oven and bake for 15 minutes, until bottoms of brussel sprouts are crispy and caramelized on the bottoms. Toss and sprinkle with grated parmesan. Serve immediately.

Tagged , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Roasted Brussel Sprouts with Pancetta, Shallots, and Parmesan

  1. I looooooooooooove Brussels sprouts. Yum.

    and what an awesome tattoo!! Nice work. :)

  2. Vicki says:

    :D I am reading your blog!!! Yum yum.

  3. I love the tattoo! I was contemplating something very similar myself. Also, brussels sprouts are a new found love of mine. I tried them for the first time 2 months ago and have been buying them every time I’m at the market.

  4. LOVE your tattoo. Seriously. It might have inspired me to get another… ;)

  5. I love brussel sprouts, but have to find recipes like these to make them palatable to my wife. Thanks for sharing.

  6. LOVING the tattoo..and jelous ..but really its great!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. […] by Agro2Quality System, Environmental Management System, OHS templates, blogging and consulting.DEVOUR […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

