Gnocchi with Basil-Pesto, Chicken, and Sun-Dried Tomatoes

Pasta dishes are my idea of comfort dishes– they’re usually cheesy or herby or tomato-y and are filled with instant carbohydrates waiting to be stored into fat cells until I work them off at the gym.

Alone. But not today!

I’m a lone-wolf at the gym but the boyfriend and I are working on my irrational paranoia of seeing people that I know (including him) at the gym derived from probably low-self esteem from freshman-year weight gain, birth control, and an overall decrease in fitness, health, and happiness last year. I love being at the gym: exercising and getting disgustingly sweaty so I need to at least be able to see someone and be fine with it and not let their opinions affect what I do despite whether or not they exist or not. So I’m lucky to have someone to help me out, stay healthy, busy, and to grow from. Love, love, love it.

Since I’m going to be heading to the gym and today, being the worse day, schedule-wise, to cook, I decided to go with a pasta dish. High in carbohydrates (~40g, 16 – 20% DV) from the gnocchi (in moderation, pasta is great!) and only about 355 – 400 calories per ~ 2 cup serving, this is a great energy source, simple, and is incredibly F L E X I B L E. I love pesto with fresh shrimp and blanched asparagus. Usually, I would make my own basil-pesto to control sodium levels but store-bought pesto (with olive oil) is perfectly fine! I also used shredded rotisserie chicken made with NO SALT and pre-made vacuum-packed gnocchi. I’m what you call a TIME-SAVER.

Gnocchi with Basil-Pesto, Chicken, and Sun-Dried Tomatoes
Serves 2
1/2 package freeze-dried potato gnocchi
4 – 5 sun-dried tomatoes
1 – 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
shredded leftover roast chicken (~1/4 c.)
2 shallots, chopped
1 large garlic clove, minced

Basil Pesto Sauce:
2 c. packed fresh basil
1/2 c. olive oil
1/4 c. pine nuts
1/4 c. pecorino or parmesan, grated
1 clove garlic
s/p

In a small food processor, blend all ingredients in Basil-Pesto Sauce until smooth. Season as needed. Meanwhile, in a small bowl, soak sun-dried tomatoes in simmering water and a couple tablespoons of balsamic vinegar for 4-5 minutes, drain, and chop into slivers or bite-sized pieces. Bring medium pot of salted water to a rolling boil and cook gnocchi until each potato dumpling rises. Remove, drain, and keep warm. Reserve a little cooking water.

In a large frying pan, heat olive oil. Sweat chopped shallots then add garlic and sun-dried tomatoes. Saute until garlic is fragrant, but not burnt. Add shredded chicken, basil-pesto sauce, gnocchi, and a couple tablespoons of reserved pasta water. Cook until everything is warmed through. If desired, until gnocchi shows a little caramelization. Season with pepper, if needed. Spoon 2 cup serving sizes into bowls and garnish with fresh basil and shredded cheese, if desired.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Gnocchi with Basil-Pesto, Chicken, and Sun-Dried Tomatoes

  1. Rick says:

    . . . It is beautiful.

  2. Caren says:

    Its superb beeing the other posts : D, regards for adding.

  3. Melanie says:

    Some genuinely nice stuff in that internet site, I enjoy it.

  4. Rosalyn says:

    Hi, personally i think once i saw you visited my site thus i came to
    “return the favor”.I’m looking to to locate issues to enhance my website!I assume its ok to work with a number of your concepts!!

  5. It’s really a nice and helpful bit of info. I’m satisfied that you simply shared this useful information in addition to
    us. Please keep us current this way. Thanks for sharing.

  6. hey there and we thank you for your info – We’ve definitely gathered anything new from at this point. I did having said that expertise a few technical issues using this kind of site, as I lived through to reload the site many occasions prior to Possible get it to load properly. I got asking yourself in case your primary hosting is alright? Not very I’m
    stressing, but sluggish loading instances times
    will often affect your placement on the internet
    and could harm your high-quality score if advertising and promoting with Adwords.

    Well I’m adding this RSS to my e-mail and could consider a good deal far more of your respective interesting content. Make certain you revise this again very soon..

  7. Evelyn says:

    Hi there would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re using? I’m going to start my own blog soon but I’m having a hard time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for
    something completely unique. P.S Apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

